Chandler O’Leary: Drawn the Road Again

“My name is Chandler O’Leary. I live in Washington state with my lovely husband (whom I refer to as “the Tailor” because he makes his own clothes and wishes to remain anonymous) and our tiny stick-shift Subaru sedan. We both love to travel, but I’m the real nut in the family. For one thing, I have lived all over the U.S. and even in Italy—so the urge to wander is deeply ingrained. And I am the one who will choose the squiggliest line on the map, rather than the Interstate highway, every single time. I am the one who gets excited about driving 200 miles out of my way to see a giant concrete prairie dog. I am the one who will add an extra day to our trip to make sure we have enough time to spend at Wall Drug. I also have a thing for jackalopes, I brake for any coffee-pot-shaped building, and I have a bright yellow hat shaped like cartoon Swiss cheese.

I’ve been recording my travels in my sketchbooks for years and years now. One day I realized I had literally hundreds of drawings hidden away, and only a few close friends had ever seen them all. I run a small business as an illustrator and lettering artist, so it’s not like I don’t have a creative outlet. But somehow my travel sketches just didn’t…fit…with the story I had been weaving through my other work. So thanks to some gentle prodding from my friend Mary-Alice, I finally decided it was time to start the next chapter.” Check out her full blog with lots more drawings etc here: http://drawntheroadagain.com/

chandler_oleary_4corners1-720x542

chandler_oleary_4corners2-720x544

chandler_oleary_chandeliertree-720x231

chandler_oleary_daffodil_motel-720x592

chandler_oleary_franklin_fountain1-720x231

chandler_oleary_franklin_fountain3-720x543

chandler_oleary_ho-made-720x542

chandler_oleary_license_plates-720x544

chandler_oleary_ontario_lupines-720x229

chandler_oleary_penland_chairs3-720x544

chandler_oleary_portland_sign-720x354

chandler_oleary_redding_signs-720x231

chandler_oleary_salmonbeach1-720x562

chandler_oleary_salmonbeach2-720x560

chandler_oleary_salmonbeach3-720x556

chandler_oleary_salmonbeach5-720x540

chandler_oleary_spaceneedle_orange-720x737

chandler_oleary_walldrug1-720x553

chandler_oleary_walldrug2-720x558

chandler_oleary_walldrug3-720x551

One thought on “Chandler O’Leary: Drawn the Road Again

Leave a Reply

