Sue Gregor: Cuffs

“Since 2005 I have been making acrylic contemporary jewellery with wild flower designs. My inspiration is to share what has cheered me up and got me through the tough times.
It all started at a difficult period of my life when I was going through a tough time.

 

In order to cope with it I started try to empty my head of everything and just be in the moment. I become aware of what was around me. Listen to the sounds and notice where I was. I became enormously comforted by how beautiful the world is.

So I started working with plants leaves and flowers and developed this method of capturing the detail of the plants . I wanted to share this with people who wear my jewellery.

My work is not mass produced .each piece is individually handmade using real  flowers and leaves to create the designs. The wild plants and weeds that grow in front gardens and wastelands, in hedges and along paths are a rich source of material.

I collect dry and press the leaves and flowers and then use them to create the designs using a process I developed which I call ‘fossilized’ as the fine detail and even the veins of the leaves show on the embossed surface of the acrylic. The leaves perish in the process so each piece is unique as all leaves and flowers differ from all others.

I confront the synthetic with the wild, by using plants to produce beautiful and individual acrylic  jewellery. My work is a celebration of the organic and  the industrial.  A memory to each individual flower or leaf.

I am fascinated by process and am always experimenting with process to push the limits to find new outcomes and ways of working.  I think it comes of being the daughter of an engineer and an Architect! I draw on my years of making designing and looking at art and design to crate my own aesthetic. Look at my social media pages to see what I am looking at now.

My first exhibition was a Contemporary Jewellery Showcase in the Arnolfini in 2005.

I now sell through 40 plus outlets in the UK and export to a number of countries all over the world. I have two assistants working with me. Its wonderful to earn my living from something I love doing

I sometimes forget how much time and passion has gong into developing today’s products, it is healthy to look back at the very first prototypes and experiments to see just how far I have all come.  I have flipped the bad times in to good. Someone once said to me when the worst happens you are at your most creative point of life.” – http://www.foltbolt.com/#!Sue-Gregor/cy7d/56d973440cf20d226f1e6711

8_black-ginger-roman-cuff-Sue-Gregor_large

blue_rowan_white

ghibli_4

Lime-star-leaf-cuff

pale_blue_ghibli_c

peach_and_pale_blue_fern

peach_and_pale_blue_Hydrangea_narrow_A

pink-grass-grass-cuffs

royal_box_cuff_sue_gregor

trees3-Sue-Gregor_c6bb293b-86ea-42bc-9172-667349897ebd

turq_rowan

Leave a Reply

