Edouard Martinet: Scrap metal wildlife

“When I was young, I used to hoard all sorts of materials such as wood, cardboard and plastic so that I could create objects – mainly boats. Twenty years later, I began sculpting from found materials. In the meantime I studied art, specifically graphic design, for five years in Paris at a college called ESAG-Met de Penninghen from 1983 to 1988, before starting to work as a freelance graphic designer. Gradually, sculpting became the obvious direction for me and in 1990 I started making insects.

When I was about nine years old, I developed an interest in insects thanks to one of my primary school teachers who was also an entomologist. I suppose it was natural that one day all these things would combine. Over time, I did less graphic design and in 1995 I finally stopped working as a graphic designer and I have been making creatures from scrap material ever since. Creepy crawlies such as spiders, insects and wasps are my principal source of inspiration, as well as animals with comical potential such as ostriches, fish and toads.” – http://www.sladmorecontemporary.com/edouard-martinet

5.Stickleback

6.Toad+II+.bronze+v2

9.Robin

14.Rose+Beetle

Crapaud+02

Leave a Reply

